Jovanovski, Holmstrom Head to the Atlantic

Nova Scotia picks up some veteran reinforcements from frequent trading partner Toronto
by Eric Schneider | January 13, 2012, 11:52 PM ET

The Nova Scotia Schooners made a significant trade today, acquiring veterans Ed Jovanovski and Tomas Holmstrom in exchange for late-blooming defenceman Aaron Johnson and prospects Phil Varone, David McIntyre, and Andrew Desjardins.  The move comes as the Schooners find themselves near the bottom of the league in offensive output and without the services of defencemen Jordan Leopold and Kevin Klein, both recovering from major injuries.

Jovanovski, perhaps the key piece in the trade, will bring a balanced game to a blueline of relatively one-dimensional players.  He's expected to challenge Klein for a roster spot when the young defenceman returns to action.  Holmstrom is likely to take Danius Zubrus's place on the second line, as the two-way forward hasn't "clicked" with the established duo of John Tavares and Clarke MacArthur.

"We've had some chemistry issues this season," admitted coach Mario Lemieux.  "I see pairs working well, but we want to get all three of our scoring lines rolling properly.  Hopefully Tomas and Ed can jumpstart our offence a bit."

Despite their scoring difficulties, the Schooners are 10-2-2 since their disastrous 10-game losing streak.  They face off against the division-leading Québec Canons tomorrow night before taking on the cross-country rival Vancover Island Norsemen in a home-and-home.

Captain's Log: The Schooners were well-represented at this year's World Junior Championships, boasting 11 players, including the team's first 6 selections in the 2011 SICHL Entry Draft, on 9 teams (with only team Latvia left out)... Finnish goaltender Sami Aittokallio, Swedish captain Johan Larsson, Russian forward Nikita Kucherov, and Canadian forward Freddie Hamilton were standouts for their respective teams... Also representing their countries were Scott Harrington, Dmitrij Jaskin, Nicklas Jensen, Marek Tvrdon, Gregory Hofmann, Jack Campbell, and Connor Brickley.


Log in to view or add comments.